Transport Education Training Authority (TETA) Bursary South Africa 2021 – 2022

By | June 13, 2019

Transport Education Training Authority (TETA) Bursary South Africa 2021 – 2022


The Transport Education Training Authority (TETA) is one of South Africa’s 21 SETAs which is responsible for assisting in training and skills development within various economic sectors, with focus on the Transport Sector.

TETA’s operational areas include maritime, road freight, freight handling, rail, taxi, aerospace, road passenger, as well as forwarding and clearing transport industry sub-sectors.


TETA will be awarding bursaries to students within the following Transport related fields of study:

  • Electrical Engineering (B degree/ B Tech/ National Diploma/ N4-N6)
  • Electronic Engineering (B degree/ B Tech/ National Diploma/ N4-N6)
  • Mechanical Engineering (B degree/ B Tech/ National Diploma/ N4-N6)
  • Aeronautical Engineering (B Degree)
  • Marine Engineering (B Degree)
  • Maritime Law (B Degree)
  • Maritime Studies (B degree/ B Tech/ National Diploma/ Advanced Diploma)
  • Nautical Studies (B degree/ B Tech/ National Diploma/ Advanced Diploma)
  • Transport Economics (B degree/ B Tech/ National Diploma/ Advanced Diploma)
  • Supply Chain Management including Warehouse, Storage and Distribution (B degree/ B Tech/ National Diploma/ Advanced Diploma)
  • Road Transport Management (B degree/ B Tech/ National Diploma/ Advanced Diploma)
  • Logistics Management (B degree/ B Tech/ National Diploma/ Advanced Diploma)
  • Transportation Management (B degree/ B Tech/ National Diploma/ Advanced Diploma)
  • Commercial Divers (Class II/ III/ IV)
  • Commercial Pilot License
  • Instrument Rating
  • Instructor’s Rating
  • CPL with ATPL subjects (Frozen ATPL)
  • Masters Degree in Transport Related possible themes (more info in the guidelines below)



The bursary will provide coverage for the following expenses: tuition fees, prescribed textbooks, transport, approved on/ off campus accommodation and meals.

See also  Hospitality Bursaries In South Africa 2020 – 2021

Shortlisted applicants will be contacted – should you not receive any feedback by 30 January 2020 at the latest, please regard your application unsuccessful.


Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying (please note that failure to satisfy all the requirements will lead to your application not being considered):

  • South African citizen
  • Between 18 and 35 years old
  • Currently unemployed
  • Completed Matric OR currently in Matric
  • Studying or intend on studying full-time within one of the aforementioned fields of study
  • Studying or registered to study at an accredited tertiary institute (including TVET Colleges, HETs, Accredited Diving Schools and Accredited Aviation Schools)
  • Good academic record with a minimum overall average of 50%
  • In possession of a valid Private Pilot License (PPL) if applying for Commercial Pilot Training
  • In possession of a valid Commercial Pilot License if applying for Instructor’s or Instrument Rating
  • Students from disadvantaged backgrounds and those with disabilities are welcome to apply
  • NOT currently funded in any TETA programme or by another sponsor



Download and complete the TETA Bursary Application Form (.pdf)

Also download the TETA Bursary Guidelines (.pdf) before applying.
Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your completed application form (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application be disregarded):

  • ID document (certified copy)
  • Matric latest results, if currently in Matric (certified copy)
  • Matric certificate, if completed Matric (certified copy)
  • Latest academic results/ record (certified copy)
  • Qualifications/ certificates (certified copy)
  • Parents/ guardians ID documents (certified copies)
  • Parents/ guardians death certificate if deceased (certified copies)
  • Proof of household income (latest payslips if employed/ affidavit if unemployed)
  • Quote from tertiary institute of tuition fees, textbooks, accommodation etc
  • Proof of registration from a tertiary institute/ Admission letter if not currently registered
  • Acceptance letter from tertiary institute/ proof of application if acceptance letter is not yet available
  • Pilots to include: Private Pilot License (PPL)
  • Commercial Diving students: must be at least 18 years old, be able to swim and be fluent in English (reading, writing and understanding)
  • If studying at a Private Institute: Valid proof of accreditation by the relevant authority/ body for study applied
See also  SA Chefs Bill Gallagher Study Assistance Bursary Fund South Africa 2021 - 2022

*Note: for a full list of required supporting documents, please see the guidelines document above.
Applications must be submitted in one of the following ways:
1) Post:
Private Bag X10016, Randburg, 2125

2) Hand delivered to TETA Head Office:
No 344, Pretoria Avenue, Randburg
Attn: Confidence Ngobeni / Sinelisiwe Sibeko – SD & LP Unit

3) Hand delivered to your nearest TETA Coastal office:
Western Cape Office:
Newlands on Main, Mariendahl House Ground Floor, 13 Main Road, Newlands, Cape Town, 7700
Attn: Zaida Sampson
Tel: 021 819 9601/ 021 819 9606/ 021 819 9607

Kwa-Zulu Natal Office:
MB House, 635-641 Peter Mokaba Road, Overport, Durban
Att: Mike Mzolo
Tel: 031 301 9614

Limpopo Office:
Capricon TVET College, Senwabarwana Campus, Senwabarwana Main Road, Bochum
Attn: Thandazile Mabuya
Tel: 079 150 2729

Please note: your application must state the following: your selected field of study, the duration of your studies, your current year of study and the cost per year of study.


2 July 2019 (at 16:30).
(Applications submitted after this date will not be accepted – please apply before the closing date to ensure your application is considered.)


For any queries related to this bursary programme, please contact TETA directly:
Tel: 011 577 7033/ 011 577 7018/ 011 577 7093